The Gordon Smith Youth Environmental Stewardship Award


Gordon Smith was dedicated to serving people and the environment and was one of the finest people many of us ever met. He was passionate about stream and wetland stewardship and very active in conservation projects in Aldergrove and Delta.

To inspire others to follow his path, his friends, family and colleagues at Metro Vancouver Regional Parks initiated the “Gordon Smith Youth Environmental Stewardship Award”. This endowment fund provides an annual award to youth for their contribution to hands-on conservation in the region. Supported by private donors, the fund is administered through the Pacific Parklands Foundation.

Young people, aged 12-18 living in the Metro Vancouver Region who demonstrate passion and involvement in environmental conservation and stewardship may be nominated for this award. Those of us who knew Gordon or had the opportunity to work with him are content in the knowledge that he would be pleased to see his passion and inspiration being passed on to the youth of the Region through this award.


Each year nominations are invited for the Gordon Smith Youth Environmental Stewardship Award, which provides a bursary for youth age 12-18 who have contributed to environmental stewardship through their volunteer efforts. The recipients demonstrate leadership in conservation and inspire other young people to get involved in environmental work.

Nominate an amazing youth for the Gordon Smith Youth Environmental Stewardship Award by March 29th, 2021. Two letters of reference/support should be submitted along with a completed nomination form.

Click Here to Download the 2021 Gordon Smith Yes Award Nomination Form

2020 Winner - Brandon Munday

Brandon, a grade 12 student at Brookswood Secondary School, Langley.

Brandon, a grade 12 student at Brookswood Secondary School in Langley was nominated by Nicole Marples, Executive Director of Langley Environmental Partners Society (LEPS). Nicole noted that Brandon consistently volunteered in conservation and restoration efforts, with his family when young, and now commits time on his own to the community and working to becoming a future innovator.

Brandon, in the blue hoody, participating in the Langley Environmental Partners Society lichen survey related to tracking air pollution levels and trends at the Township of Langley Cemetery.

He has been involved with invasive plant removal and hands-on stewardship with LEPS for five years and volunteered as a Campbell Valley Nature House host last year.  Brandon participates with his family in Langley Community Farm Market stewardship efforts including delivering stewardship-based workshop fundraisers to benefit local non-profits.

He has taken the initiative to develop himself as a leader and mentor among his peers not only in school but with other youth of all ages in the community. He has organized and led in research projects, citizen science and is also the point person for many youth initiatives.

Brandon plans to capitalize on his mathematical talents at University this fall and eventually pursue chemical engineering with the vision of applying his knowledge to climate change research and solutions.

2020 Winner - Patrick Beattie

Patrick, a Grade 12 student at Maplewood Alternative High School, North Vancouver.

Patrick is a Grade 12 student at Maplewood Alternative High School in North Vancouver.  He is very connected to the marine environment where he lives and spends the summers on the Sunshine Coast. His mother, Jodi, has seen his passion for the environment develop and noted the many hours he spends outdoors collecting waste from his kayak and walking along ocean shorelines. He tracks this ongoing collection with the Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup program.

Patrick’s outdoor skills allow him to access remote shorelines and share his concerns with users of these locations.

His passion for the environment has given him a platform to share his knowledge of the outdoors and action plans with others, even strangers walking the beach.  He takes leadership roles at his school to influence environmental change including initiatives for recycling, and reducing energy use and waste. Patrick spent two summers volunteering at the Sunshine Coast Salmon Hatchery on Chapman Creek.

Patrick hopes to attend Capilano University for a year and then enter the BCIT Fish and Wildlife program to eventually work in parks and make a difference through hands-on stewardship, restoration and education.

Gordon Smith Youth Environmental Stewardship Award 2020 Nominees

Brandon Munday, Brookswood Secondary School, Langley (WINNER)
Patrick Beattie, Maplewood Alternative High School, North Vancouver (WINNER)
Aaliyah Banka, Tamanawis Secondary School, Surrey
Alexandra (Alex) Itcush, Heritage Woods Secondary School, Port Moody
Anna Draper, Heritage Woods Secondary School, Port Moody
Miku Yamada, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
Patricia Ho, University Hill Secondary School, Vancouver
Samantha (Sam) Lin, Prince of Whales Secondary School, Vancouver
Sylvie Son, Lord Byng Secondary School, Vancouver
Alexandra (Alex) Munday, Walnut Grove Secondary School, Langley
Sofia Slater, University of Waterloo, Waterloo (home Port Moody)
Hannah Lord, Thomas Haney Secondary School, Maple Ridge


2020: Brandon Munday, Patrick Beattie
2019: Jason Pang, Griffin Andersen
2018: Graeme Chung, Brennan Strandberg-Salmon
2017: Miranda Andersen
2016: Denise Lee
2015: Michele Walter
2014: Soohyun Kim
2013: Saskia Vaisey
2012: Cynthia Bhourji and Miranda Wang
2011: Edward Ngai, Madeleine Barois and Lauren Wright
2010: Blair Moro
2009: Annie Hsu
2008: Angie Ramey
2007: Corey Bunnell
2006: Greg von Euw
2005: Yan Zhao
2004: Naomi Bollman

Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Click Here

You are donating to : Pacific Parklands Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note